My Toolbox

These are the tools I have to help me in recovery, every day:

  • Mindful moments
    • Either focusing on my breath, repeating a calming phrase (i.e. “I’m alright,” “You are so very loved,” whatever works for you), or placing my thoughts on a cloud
    • Noticing “I’m having the thought that…”
  • Self-compassion (link), although I do feel like there must be better ways…
  • Journaling
    • Can be helpful to have a prompt – anything from why you want to recover to gratitude for your body to something random that happened that day. This is how you get in tune with yourself.
  • Alternative self-care activities
    • Walking, calling a friend or family member, reading a book, going to the library, painting nails, TED talks, painting, snuggling, napping, yoga
  • Setting intentions and checking in with kindness
    • Why do I want to change? How am I doing? What do I really need right now?

I’ve learned there are a few random things that really help me. Some are likely personal, but I wanted to share:

  • Eating breakfast at work. Showing myself I have the capability to NOT reach for food first thing after my alarm goes off gives me the confidence to get through the day. When I start off the day with a binge, I feel awful.
  • Having a more structured sleep schedule. Waking up groggy from naps triggers binges for me and if I’m exhausted, I’ll eat whatever is in front of me.
  • Journaling about my experience with the meal plan every night. When did I slip up and why? Stay non-judgmental and learn from this. I’m learning when I’m most vulnerable.

I like to collect quotes and anything in general that motivates me. I keep them on a Tumblr and read when I’m feeling like giving in. A few of my favorites:

  •  Writing is not about creating tidy paragraphs that sound lovely or choosing the “right” words. It’s just about noticing who you are and noticing life and sharing what you notice.

    Glennon Doyle Melton in Carry On, Warrior
  •  My body is my teacher now, and I have learned. Pain and love are places I must be brave enough to visit.

    Glennon Doyle Melton, Love Warrior
  •  …compulsive eating is basically a refusal to be fully alive. No matter what we weigh, those of us who are compulsive eaters have anorexia of the soul. We refuse to take in what sustains us. We live lives of deprivation. And when we can’t stand it any longer, we binge. The way we are able to accomplish all of this is by the simple act of bolting – of leaving ourselves – hundreds of times a day.

  •  Compulsion is despair on the emotional level. The substances, people, or activities that we become compulsive about are those that we believe capable of taking our despair away… Compulsive behaviour, at its most fundamental, is a lack of self-love; it is an expression of a belief that we are not good enough.

    Geneen Roth
  •  So even if the hot loneliness is there, and for 1.6 seconds we sit with that restlessness when yesterday we couldn’t sit for even one, that’s the journey of the warrior

    Glennon Doyle Melton, Love Warrior
  •  Since brokenness is the way of folks, the only way to live peacefully is to forgive everyone constantly, including yourself.

    Glennon Doyle Melton in Carry on, Warrior
  •  When the only tool you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail

    Phish

 

Leave a Reply

